Formas’ organisation

Formas is a research council and a government agency, and it is headed by the Director General. The Director General and the heads of department make up Formas’ management group.

Management group

The management group consists of the Director General, the heads of departments for Agricultural Sciences, Spatial Planning, Environment, Analysis and Policy, and Digital Transformation, as well as the Head of Administration and Head of Communications.

The management group deals with issues of a strategic nature, such as overall prioritisation of operations, budget, operational plans, skill needs and resource allocation.

Formas’ departments

Three departments are responsible for research funding in Formas’ different areas of responsibility:

  • Department for Agricultural Sciences
  • Department for Spatial Planning
  • Department for Environment

Other departments:

  • Department for Analysis and Policy
  • Department for Digital Transformation
  • Department for Administration
  • Department for Communications
Updated:21 June 2024
Page manager: Elisabeth Tejme